Calling all undergrad researchers

January 31, 2012
URC students

Students presenting at the Undergraduate Research Conference

Online Registration for the 2012 Undergraduate Research Conference is open now until March 2 at This is a great opportunity to present the results of a research project to a wide audience, whether it be capstone research, a thesis, or creative work. The conference, one of the largest of its kind in the nation, runs from April 13-28.

It’s also time to submit proposals for Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships and Undergraduate Research Awards—the deadline is March 1.

The last wooden whaleship will sail once more

January 27, 2012
old photo of the Charles W. Morgan

The Charles W. Morgan

This past week, 14 of the nation’s top maritime scholars gathered at the Mystic Seaport Museum in Connecticut for a two-day brainstorming session to help the Seaport develop programming for the re-launch and voyage of the 1841 whaleship Charles W. Morgan, the last wooden whaleship in the world and the oldest American commercial vessel. UNH Associate Professor of History Jeff Bolster was among them.

The meeting was funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It allowed the museum to bring together experts in maritime history, art, literature, and science to help it express the Morgan’s significance to all of those fields with the most up-to-date research and best presentation methods possible.

For Prof. Bolster, the prospect of sailing a vessel with no engine, no navigation equipment and no on-board electricity is one of the highlights of the Morgan’s restoration.

“I think it’s a stunning opportunity to run the ship,” Bolster said. “Even my good friends who are among the most accomplished sailors have grown up with engines and radar and everything else … I think this will sing to people in a certain way.”

The voyage of the Morgan is planned for 2014.

Read the full story.

Learn more about the Charles W. Morgan.

What do George Clooney and UNH have in common?

January 20, 2012
Dustin Lance Black

Dustin Lance Black, author of the play 8

The play 8.  Both Clooney and UNH community members are participating in a staged reading of this play by Academy Award winner Dustin Lance Black (who wrote the screenplays for Milk and J. Edgar), based on trial transcripts from California’s 2010 court fight over Proposition 8, the initiative that outlawed same-sex marriage in the state.

OK, to be honest, Clooney isn’t in the very SAME reading of 8 as the UNH community members. Rather, both he and UNH are part of an effort by the American Foundation for Equal Rights and Broadway Impact to produce staged readings of 8 across the country this year. Over forty readings have been scheduled thus far from California to New Hampshire. UNH’s reading, directed by Associate Professor of Theatre David Kaye, is on February 7, with a second reading at the Palace Theatre in Manchester on February 10. Clooney’s is on March 3. Yes, his is in Los Angeles, with an all-star cast.

Learn more.

Alum publishes new book of poems

January 17, 2012

photo of Richard Krawiec
Creative writing alumnus Richard Krawiec ’83 M.A. recently published a book of poems, She Hands me the Razor. Krawiec has previously published two novels, a collection of stories, four plays, and a chapbook. He has won fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Pennsylvania Arts Council, and the North Carolina Arts Council. He teaches online at UNC Chapel Hill, where he won the 2009 Excellence in Teaching Award, and runs Jacar Press, a Community Active publishing house.

Former North Carolina Poet Laureate Kathryn Stripling Byer described Krawiec’s new work as “an edgy and satisfying marriage of tenderness and well-honed attentiveness to the connections, often fraying, among people and the various places in which they find themselves, both physically and emotionally.”

Find out more.

Recent history department alum on PBS Newshour

January 10, 2012

Anna Peterson ’08 (history and justice studies) was selected to participate in a roundtable discussion facilitated by journalist Gwen Ifill for the PBS program, Newshour. Entitled “What Do New Hampshire’s Voters Want in a Republican Nominee?”, the segment aired this past Friday.  A video of the discussion is available online. Peterson addresses what she is looking for in a presidential candidate and what is important to her in this election.

UNH professors Nicoletta Gullace and Ellen Fitzpatrick of the history department recommended Peterson and facilitated her appearance.

Peterson is the granddaughter of the late New Hampshire Governor Walter Peterson, who served as interim president of UNH in the mid-90s.

New Hampshire young voices: a haze of uncertainty

January 9, 2012

New Hampshire Young Voices: A Haze of Uncertainty – NextGen Journal.

UNH English/journalism major Alexandra Churchill publishes her thoughts on the presidential election in NextGen Journal, an online journal run by students from colleges and universities across the United States. Churchill is a staff writer for NextGen.

Faculty and staff standouts

January 5, 2012
photos of the seven faculty and staff excellence award winners

clockwise from top left: J. William Harris, Sarah Stitzlein, Michael Middleton, Clark Knowles, Deborah Kinghorn, Lynn Beaver, Judith Sharkey

Last semester, the University announced the winners of the 2011 university-wide faculty and staff excellence awards. Six faculty members and one staff member from the College of Liberal Arts were recognized for their outstanding contributions: J. William Harris (history) won the Graduate Faculty Mentor Award, Sarah Stitzlein (education) the Outstanding Assistant Professor Award, and Judy Sharkey (education) the President’s Excellence Through Diversity Award. Teaching Excellence Awards went to Clark Knowles (English), Michael Middleton (education), and Deborah Kinghorn (theatre and dance). Lynn Beaver won a Staff Excellence Award for her work in the sociology department.

Find out what makes these faculty and staff so deserving:

University-wide award winner profiles
Teaching Excellence award winner profiles
Staff Excellence award winner profiles

%d bloggers like this: