UNH Tapped to Help White House Task Force End Campus Sexual Assault

April 30, 2014

The University of New Hampshire is one of three universities tapped by a White House task force to do further research related to ending campus sexual assault. UNH’s Prevention Innovations was identified in “Not Alone: The First Report of the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault.” The center will design and implement a training program, in cooperation with campus-based practitioners from around the country and the university’s Sexual Harassment and Rape Prevention Program (SHARPP).

The White House research will be led by Sharyn Potter, associate professor of sociology and co-director of Prevention Innovations. “The specific research will look at how presenting the same information using different delivery methods (online, in a class, via the web, in residence halls, etc.) impacts what students remember and how they use the information over time,” Potter explained.

“This is a great honor for Prevention Innovations and for the university overall,” said Jane Stapleton, co-director of UNH’s Prevention Innovations. “We are seen as leaders in the effort to end violence against women and the programs that have come out of Prevention Innovations have been proven to make a difference.”

The task force report also highlights Bringing in the Bystander, a university prevention program that emphasizes a bystander approach and assumes that everyone has a role to play in ending violence against women. It has been adapted and continues to be evaluated by more than 50 colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada, and it has been piloted for the U.S. Army in Europe.

To read the White House task force report: http://www.whitehouse.gov/sites/default/files/docs/report_0.pdf. For more information on Prevention Innovations: http://cola.unh.edu/prevention-innovations

Humanities Program Receives Generous Gift of Endowed Scholarship

April 16, 2014

Murkland Hall column

Thanks to the generosity of a UNH Business School alumnus who wants to foster better critical thinking, writing, analytical, and communication skills among college graduates, a new endowed fund now exists to benefit the students in the Humanities Program. The Koch Family Scholarship in the Humanities provides meritorious scholarship support to undergraduate students majoring in Humanities at the University of New Hampshire-Durham. The fund will continue to exist in perpetuity, to sustain and nurture the work of generations of undergraduates in the Humanities Program. The Humanities Program and the College is profoundly grateful for this new opportunity to offer more robust financial support to our students.

English Professor Wins NEH Grant for Indigenous New England Writing Project

April 2, 2014

Siobhan Senier

Associate Professor of English Siobhan Senier has won a $39,655 grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities for her project titled, Writing of Indigenous New England: Building Partnerships for the Preservation of Regional Native American Literature. The project will tackle collaborative planning for creating access, through an online portal, to regional Native American writings held by small tribal archives across New England. Three pilot projects to test workflow for digitizing these materials will be undertaken and protocols and agreements for future collaborative work drafted.

Faculty Excellence

April 1, 2014

excellence logo
The University has announced the 2014 winners of the university-wide faculty excellence and teaching awards.

Congratulations to these distinguished faculty members.

Outstanding Assistant Professor
Szu-Feng Chen, Assistant Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance

Distinguished Professor Award
Willem deVries, Professor, Department of Philosophy

Teaching Excellence Award
Joan Glutting, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Teaching Excellence Award
Suzanne Graham, Associate Professor, Department of Education

Excellence in International Engagement Award
Sheila McNamee, Professor, Department of Communication

Teaching Excellence Award
Catherine Moran, Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology

Award for Excellence in Public Service
Sharyn Potter, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

%d bloggers like this: