Students Awarded for Excellence in Foreign Language Study

students, faculty, and parents in Murkland 115

Students with majors in the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures as well as those who pursue language study in the department were recognized today for excelling in their studies. Awards were given to the student who achieved at the highest level in each of the 14 languages and at each grade level within those languages. In addition, awards, scholarships, and recognitions were given to the following students:

Malcolm and Virginia Smith Prize

Awarded annually to a graduating senior in each department in the College of Liberal Arts who has demonstrated the most progress and growth academically in their major field of study during their undergraduate years

Amber L. Davis, Classics major
Christopher C. DiPersio, German major
Victoria J. Cormier, Russian major
Jennifer L. Watson, Spanish major

Alexander Danoff Endowed Scholarship in German

An annual scholarship that recognizes academic excellence

Laurianne Posch

American Teachers of Russian Post-Secondary Russian Scholar Laureate Award

Katelyn R. Barnes

Award for Excellence in Graduate Work in Spanish

Maria del Carmen Perez-Perogil

Benjamin D. Keating Memorial Prize in Classics

Gabriel M. Hoffman

Domingo Sarmiento Award

The Spanish award for highest overall GPA

Kelly Taveras

Irene Crosby Award for Study Abroad in Russia

Katelyn R. Barnes and Kelsey R. Douville

John C. Rouman Scholarship in Classics

Awarded to students showing the greatest promise of excelling at both Greek and Latin languages at the advanced level

Jack W. Vachon and Max C. Weithman

Patricia Woodbury Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to students with a demonstrated interest in Latin

Kaitlyn A. Carrion, Eric M. Fortier, Michael A. Mignanelli, and Tayler N. LaHaise

S. Morris Locke Memorial Prize in Classics

An annual prize awarded to the senior who has the highest rank in Latin

Nicole A. Bell and Adrienne M. Drummy

Several students were also recognized for their election to Dobro Slovo, the National Slavic Honor Society; Pi Delta Phi, Chapter Mu Xi, the French National Honor Society; Delta Phi Alpha, the German Honor Society; and to Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest national academic honor society.

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: