UNH Civil War class to air on C-SPAN

December 6, 2017

photo of J. William Harris

A lecture by J. William Harris on the Civil War will air on C-SPAN 3 on Saturday, December 9 at 8 p.m. and midnight ET.

A C-SPAN crew filmed the class meeting at UNH earlier this semester. Harris, a professor of history, lectured on Abraham Lincoln, the Civil War Battle of Antietam and the issuing of the Emancipation Proclamation in 1862. The lecture was part of Harris’ Civil War Era course.

The program will be available online for viewing on the C-SPAN website immediately after airing.  A podcast will be available starting on December 12.

The lecture appears as part of the Lectures in History series on C-SPAN’s American History TV, which airs for 48 hours each weekend on C-SPAN 3 from 8 a.m. Saturday to 8 a.m. Sunday ET. American History TV programming also airs in the evenings on C-SPAN 3 when the U.S. Congress is out of session. The Lectures in History series airs every Saturday at 8 p.m. and midnight ET.

The series allows viewers to take a peek inside college classrooms around the country on a weekly basis to hear lectures on a variety of American history topics. Viewers have responded positively to the series, says producer Russell Logan, and the Lectures in History page at the American History TV website is the most visited.

Logan says that C-SPAN invited Harris to be part of the series because he is a former Pulitzer Prize nominee and a noted professor, adding “…everyone we tape for Lectures in History is recommended in some way, be it by a fellow professor, or by a C-SPAN producer who saw the person at another event we covered, or because they are particularly distinguished in some way like Professor Harris.”

Harris specializes in the history of the American South, the Civil War and African American history. He is the author of “The Hanging of Thomas Jeremiah: A Free Black Man’s Encounter with Liberty,” “The Making of the American South: A Short History, 1500-1877,” and “Deep Souths: Delta, Piedmont, and Sea Island Society in the Age of Segregation,” which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in History, co-winner of the Organization of American Historians’ James A. Rawley Prize, and winner of the Agricultural History Society’s Theodore Saloutos Memorial Book Prize.

This is the second UNH classroom lecture that has been covered by C-SPAN. Political science professor Andrew Smith’s lecture on the History of the New Hampshire Primaries aired in September 2011.

Harris Named Fulbright Distinguished Chair

January 29, 2014

J. William Harris

J. William Harris, professor of history, has been named to the Fulbright Distinguished Research Chair at the Roosevelt Study Center (RSC) in the Netherlands for next year. He will be in residence there for one semester. This prestigious chair allows prominent U.S. scholars in the field of U.S. history and American Studies to be affiliated for a four-month period with the RSC and to work on a contracted book project or article(s) for a peer-reviewed academic journal. Awards in the Fulbright Distinguished Chairs Program are viewed as among the most prestigious appointments in the Fulbright Scholar Program.

Faculty and staff standouts

January 5, 2012
photos of the seven faculty and staff excellence award winners

clockwise from top left: J. William Harris, Sarah Stitzlein, Michael Middleton, Clark Knowles, Deborah Kinghorn, Lynn Beaver, Judith Sharkey

Last semester, the University announced the winners of the 2011 university-wide faculty and staff excellence awards. Six faculty members and one staff member from the College of Liberal Arts were recognized for their outstanding contributions: J. William Harris (history) won the Graduate Faculty Mentor Award, Sarah Stitzlein (education) the Outstanding Assistant Professor Award, and Judy Sharkey (education) the President’s Excellence Through Diversity Award. Teaching Excellence Awards went to Clark Knowles (English), Michael Middleton (education), and Deborah Kinghorn (theatre and dance). Lynn Beaver won a Staff Excellence Award for her work in the sociology department.

Find out what makes these faculty and staff so deserving:

University-wide award winner profiles
Teaching Excellence award winner profiles
Staff Excellence award winner profiles

%d bloggers like this: